Precious


When I took this picture I could walk and get around easily enough and I really don’t believe that I took my ability to do so for granted, but when you suddenly become hobbled it seems as though everything you were once able to do easily, shifts within the pecking order of importance.  Whenever I am out photographing the beauty of creation I am always in a state of awe and praise, and I feel so in touch with the creator.  But when I am at home going about my daily business, well sometimes praise is the last thing on my mind…that is until my daily business becomes my daily challenge.

When the act of just simply preparing myself a cup of coffee suddenly turns into a monumental task it causes me to re-evaluate just exactly what it is that I perceive to be praise-worthy.  Nature, most certainly is praise-worthy; but when I contemplate the miracle of  each and every joint in my fingers that enable me to grasp things, or the capacity of my lungs to take in air and exhale myself out into the universe, or the veins running through my body carrying blood and oxygen to all of my cells, I see that every second that I am alive is a praise-worthy event, and that nature is a spectacular backdrop to the symphony of life.

Losing my capacity to move around and do things without thinking sucks.  I am not going to pretend like it doesn’t.  But lately I am like the man walking across a field who encountered a tiger. He fled, the tiger chasing after him. Coming to a cliff, he caught hold of a wild vine and swung himself over the edge. The tiger sniffed at him from above.Terrified, the man looked down to where, far below, another tiger had come, waiting to eat him. Two mice, one white and one black, little by little began to gnaw away at the vine. The man saw a luscious strawberry near him. Grasping the vine in one hand, he plucked the strawberry with the other. How sweet it tasted!

Leave a Reply

