Prayers for Us All


Botanical Gardens-1-70

Today I pray for those in Boston and all over the world who are the latest victims of senseless violence. It’s easy to miss – the others – who are not featured in the headlines… I don’t know, in our defense, maybe it’s a kind of survival instinct to focus on only one tragedy at a time. Who can endure having their heart broken every minute of every day, because that’s what it would take if we were to mourn every single act of violence and every single act of injustice that goes on in this world. Someone said the other day that life is not fair and I remember cringing because I have been hearing that all my life and I just wanted to shout “of course life is not fair because we make it that way!” It wasn’t part of the grand design that some people should go hungry while others have more than they could ever use; It wasn’t part of the grand design that some people should be shoved to the margins while others go to the mall; and it sure wasn’t part of the grand design that some people should be gunned down or blown up because other people are so tired of being told that life isn’t fair! But that’s what we do.  I know we are better than this. I see it in the heroic acts that come out whenever there is a tragedy…people don’t just turn away and say that life is not fair. I see it in the generosity and in the outpouring of love and prayers…I see it in the faces of people I encounter everyday…I know we are better than this. But we have to be better all the time – not just when something horrible happens. So as I pray for those victims of violence, I pray too for us. Jesus said: “You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid. No one after lighting a lamp puts it under the bushel basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good words and give glory to your father in heaven.” I pray that we come together and let our lights shine so bright that we will never know darkness again…

Leave a Reply

