To Simba, With Love…


Christmas2011-1-3

From the moment I first looked into your big brown eyes I knew that I would love you until the end of time.  While all of the other shelter guests jumped around barking with excitement and trying to get my attention, you alone sat there in the middle of your pen – looking solemn, alone and yet filled with quiet dignity.  I wanted to know you immediately, so we went into the visiting room to see if maybe there was some chemistry there – you were very quiet, very reserved, but you licked my hand and you showed me that you thought you could trust me.  Trust was very hard for you after all that you had been through…but you were willing to try.  I admired that.  I remember when Amy and I took you home.  You had just had your surgery and you were so miserable.  Amy carried you so tenderly and we put you in the middle of the bed and both of us slept there wrapped around you.  I think you knew then that you had come home.

You and I have walked many a mile together.  Hiking was always our thing.  Of course for you it was more like running way ahead of me and then doubling back to see what was taking me so long.  Over and over you would run ahead and then double back.  There is no question of who got the most exercise on our excursions.  You and I have traveled all over this country together.  You were the best road-trip buddy a girl could ever have.  I remember the times I had to pull over and rest my eyes for a bit.  You would stand guard and growl at anyone who came near the car.  I knew you had my back and it was safe.  We have lived in 4 different states, and 7 different homes together.  There are very few places that I could go and not think of you.  Wherever we were – whatever we were doing – as long as we were together we were home.  It broke my heart when you couldn’t go out with me anymore.  It just wasn’t the same without you.  I know it confused you when I stopped taking you for rides in the car.  You wanted so badly to go, but when I relented we were both always very sorry because of the pain it caused you.

And now my dear friend, you have reached the end of this life’s journey.  I can’t let you hurt anymore – I just can’t.  I know that you still have so much love to give, but it costs you a lot to have to keep on giving it.  It is time for you to rest – and to wait for me – because someday I’ll be with you again.  We’ll hike all over the green pastures, and hopefully God will be okay with you swimming in the still waters.  I reckon that as long as you don’t bark at the sheep it should be fine.

Simba you are my soul puppy.  I love you with all my heart.  Wait for me dear one – wait for me.

Prayer for Simba…

Loving God, you who love every single created being, thank you for your presence with us here today as we send Simba into your eternal arms of rest.  Please watch over her for me and keep her safe just as she has kept me safe during our many years together.  Shepherd her with your rod and your staff and remind her that I will be with her again someday soon.  Simba is a good dog; she is loved by many humans, and she will be sorely missed here on earth.  Please comfort those of us who remain behind and mourn her passing, and help us to remember that in you we have eternal life and nothing passes away forever.  Amen

8 thoughts on “To Simba, With Love…

  1. Beautifully written. You have me in tears. You’ve captured that bond between dog (or cat) and human companion so well. I’m sorry for your loss. It is such a lonely feeling loss.

    Like

  2. Thank you for putting this into words. I believe Simba is happy in the next life, waiting patiently for you to follow along one day. I pray for you to be comforted in your grief.

    Like

  3. Beautifully said, Joylynn. My heart aches for you, but at least you can rest assured that you gave Simba just as much love and comfort as she gave you. You will be roaming those green pastures together again some day – her with her red bandanna around her neck doubling back to check on you once again. Hugs!! (By the way,I think God would be okay with Simba exercising those sheep, too!)

    Like

  4. I am honored that I was the one who carried Simba home the first day and I am honored to have known such a loving, sweet, wonderful dog. Thank you, Simba, for all the good memories. You growled when anyone except me walked up to Mom’s door, and I liked that because I knew you were keeping my mom safe, but I also thought that was really cool that you liked me so much. I remember the day after we brought you home I was watching over you while Mom was at work. You scared the bejeezus out of me going after poor Samantha (because you wanted to play- we will just stick with that story) and then I had to call the vet because your heart was racing afterward and I thought you had hurt yourself in your enthusiasm to get to know the cat. Mom called it right when I told her what had happened, “That dog is so full of piss and vinegar, I’m not surprised.” You were so full of life even though it was obvious you had been severely mistreated previously. You got over it though, and moved on to better things, and for that I admire you. I will miss you forever SImba, until I see you again on the other side. You are a special, special dog and I love you, and I am glad you don’t have to be in pain anymore. Take care Simba-Girl xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

