Forty Days of Lent – Day 10


SNR_3 (2)

And he was transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothes became dazzling white.  Matthew 17:2

Today, in my neck of the woods, this was one gorgeous fine day and I made the most of it.  I went to the nature reserve that I love the most in the world and upon stepping out of the car and gathering my gear I was greeted by a beautiful field of crocuses.  I was all set to focus mostly on hiking today; I didn’t think that there would be very much in bloom yet for photographing.  And there wasn’t a whole lot in bloom, but there was plenty to take pictures of.  Obviously I dropped to the ground and began capturing the crocuses right away, but then much to my delight a beautiful butterfly/moth landed on the one I was photographing.  Then a bee dropped by and got in on the action.  Later I encountered the most gorgeous spider web I have ever seen and by standing just so I could see it in the sunlight which made a prism out of it so that it reflected colors!  It was one miracle after another all day long topped off by a spectacular sunset over the lake with gorgeous reflections of the trees.  Very little was in bloom, and the overall landscape looked very much like a barren wilderness, but the synchronicity was evident all around me and it was one of the best days of photography I have ever had!  I am transfigured in body, mind and soul and I am reminded that even when things appear bleak on the surface, when you look closely, miracles still surround us.

Leave a Reply

