Forty Days of Lent – Day 17


Hannibal-1-36

 

Hope delayed makes the heart sick; longing fulfilled is a tree of life. Proverbs 13:12

God bless Anne Lamott who talks about hope sometimes being the ability to just show up.  She says: “Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come.  You wait and watch and work; you don’t give up.”  When I am in the dark, my first inclination is to hunker down and isolate myself.  I don’t want anyone to see me when I am down; they might pick up on it and how embarrassing would that be?  I don’t want to admit my weakness…I must stay strong…I don’t want to be the center of attention…what if I cry?  More than anything in the world I hate to cry in front of others!  But ironically, it is when I am in the dark that I need the light of other people to lead me back into my own light; so I am forced to show up and expose myself.  Like a mole coming out of a dark tunnel I poke my head above ground and tentatively make my way somewhere, anywhere, just to be in the presence of others.  “Ah, there you are!  Where have you been?  We were wondering about you…come on in; we need your help.”  And so it begins, the journey back into the light.  “You wait and watch and work; you don’t give up.”

Leave a Reply

