The Peace of Christ


Belfontaine-1-28

Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.  And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called into the one body.  And be thankful.  Colossians 3:14-15

Paul describes this new life in Christ in chapter 3 of Colossians and I wonder to myself why it is so challenging to live this way if indeed I have been made new.  Is it because I believe my new life to be something I am able to dictate and control?  If I let the peace of Christ rule in my heart then it is not me ruling and controlling; it is Christ.  So the question is not how do I live this way, but how do I learn to always let the peace of Christ rule in my heart?  This is where practices come in.  Morning devotion is not something I must do if I want to gain admittance into heaven; it is something I do so that my heart becomes open to God and clear of my own daily rubble.  All practices, worship, prayer, meditation, etc. are about intentionally taking a moment to pause, reset, and remember who it is that guides me in this new behavior.  Sometimes I find forgiveness to be tough – especially when someone has betrayed me.  But with the peace of Christ ruling in my heart, it happens – it just happens.  So I practice, practice, practice; and clothe myself in love.

Prayer

God of new beginnings, help me to remember that each and every day is a new beginning, and that it is you who guides me into my new life in Christ.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

