The Fragmented Whole


SNR_Sunsets (21)

What then are we to say?  Should we continue in sin in order that grace may abound?  By no means!  How can we who died to sin go on living in it?  Romans 6:1-2

To me, sin is an enigma.  What is it inside of us that makes it so easy to give in to our lesser natures?  Humans have been pondering this question since the beginning of recorded history; the story of the fall attests to that.  I can remember doing wicked things even as far back as the age of three or four; clearly, I must have been born this way.  And now, when I want so badly to follow the ways of Jesus, I still find myself reacting to life by placing my own self-interests first.

I was reminded today of the Japanese art of Kinstsugi.  Hundreds of years ago there was a Japanese artist who decided that he would make broken china beautiful.  So he started using gold resin to hold the broken fragments together.  The intricate veins of gold turned brokenness into works of great beauty.  The brokenness was not covered up or hidden; it was enhanced, and made beautiful.  Our brokenness is part of who we are as humans, but when we hand our shattered pieces to God, through God’s grace our brokenness is transformed into a work of great beauty.  If we hang on to the pieces and try to glue them together on our own, we end up with an ugly mess.

Prayer:

God of the wounded and broken, help me to remember that it is your grace that holds my pieces together and that you have transformed me into a work of art.  Amen

Leave a Reply

