Hope and Conviction


Belfontaine-1-15

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.  Hebrews 11:1

What do I hope for?  How far out in advance do I dare to hope?  I do not know what to hope for beyond this life, and my conviction of things not seen is hard to express – even to myself.  So I limit my hopes and convictions to what I do know – life – is that so wrong?  I hope for a better life, one that is not dominated by the greed that we are all party to.  I hope that people will stop destroying each other, and that all learn how to live in peace and harmony.  I hope that people will begin to work together, and learn to care for one another; I hope that love will finally settle all wounds and heal all hurts.  I hope that words like “fundamentalist” and “progressive” become relics of the past.  I hope that my children and grandchildren will grow into an age where all will sing praise to the glory of God with one voice, and that no matter the language used or the ideas expressed, all praise will be equally respected.  I hope that humans make it – I really hope for that more than anything.  I hope we finally learn to value what we have been given, instead of always wanting more.  I am convinced that it is possible – I hope that is enough because I am just as convinced that I will never see it during the time I have left.  I can move toward it though; I can always move toward it.  Is that faith? Or is faith hoping for something better in the next life?  I know nothing of what is next – only of what is now.  And what is now, leaves plenty of room for hope and conviction.

Prayer:

God, I don’t know much, but I long to know you better.  That’s all I can really say with conviction.  Amen

Leave a Reply

