The War on Memes


Grand-Memes

I believe that I have just about reached the point of saturation when it comes to memes – specifically memes that show up in the form of an image, video or piece of text that is copied and then spread rapidly by social media users.  Sadly, I use memes all the time, but recently I came to realize that as my meme use has increased, my ability to think for myself and express myself, as myself, has diminished in proportion to my dependence on memes.

I think what woke me up was the recent raging debate over the plain red Starbucks cup.  I don’t know how long it takes to put together a meme, having never actually created one myself, but it must not take too terribly long since within hours of the original atrocity, memes had spread like wildfire and my Facebook feed was fill with red cups expressing clever ideas about what it really means to be a Christian.  But things didn’t stop there…oh no!  Following in hot pursuit of the memes came the blog posts.  Now I do know something about how long it takes to put together a blog post, and that can equal a fair amount of time; more time than the plain red Starbucks cup warranted – regardless of where you stand on the issue.  It seems that no matter what happens in the world, the first line of defense is those quirky meme creators, followed by hordes of bloggers all racing to see who can come up with the most insightful ideas for the most likes and complimentary comments.

So the meme gets the ball rolling, which gets passed to the bloggers, and the rest of us all have a party sharing all of these clever thoughts and thinking we are expressing where we stand on any given matter, when in fact all we are doing is transmitting by repetition and replication in a manner analogous to the biological transmission of genes – which – according to Dictionary.com is the definition of a meme.

Okay, I quit!  It’s going to be tough, but no more memes.  I am taking back my mind.  Thanks for listening – and no memes please!

2 thoughts on “The War on Memes

  1. Joylynn, It’s been fun poking around on your site. Thank you for following mine and I look forward to reading more of your thoughts. You are thoughtful, creative and articulate. Thanks for blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

